ARGYLL AND BUTE COUNCIL Oban, Lorn and The Isles Area

Committee

Customer Services 12 September 2018

# **Appointment to the Catherine McCaig Trust**

## 1.0 EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

- 1.1 The Area Committee made appointments to various outside bodies and organisations at the meeting held on 14 June 2017.
- 1.2 The Area Committee is asked to consider the appointment of an Elected Member to be one of three Council representatives on the Catherine McCaig Trust.

ARGYLL AND BUTE COUNCIL Oban, Lorn and The Isles Area

Committee

Customer Services 12 September 2018

# **Appointment to the Catherine McCaig Trust**

#### 2.0 INTRODUCTION

- 2.1 The Area Committee made appointments to various outside bodies and organisations at the meeting held on 14 June 2017.
- 2.2 Councilors Mary-Jean Devon, Andrew Vennard and Sir Jamie McGrigor were appointed to act as trustees of the Catherine McCaig Trust.
- 2.3 Councillor Devon has intimated that she is no longer in a position to act as a trustee and has formally resigned from this position.

#### 3.0 RECOMMENDATIONS

3.1 The Area Committee is asked to consider the appointment of an Elected Member to be the third Council representative on the Catherine McCaig Trust.

#### 4.0 DETAIL

- 4.1 Prior to the Local Government Elections in May 2017, officers wrote to all outside bodies and organisations asking if they still required Elected Member representation, and asked for confirmation on the number of representatives required. The Catherine McCaig Trust responded at that time, requesting the Council appoint three Trustees.
- 4.2 Appointments made to outside organisations will be until the next Local Government Elections scheduled for May 2022.

#### 5.0 CONCLUSION

5.1 This report advises the Area Committee of the current situation in regard to the Catherine McCaig Trust and asks Members to consider making an appointment to the Trust.

#### 6.0 IMPLICATIONS

- 6.1 Policy none
- 6.2 Financial there will be costs incurred in terms of Members attending these meetings.
- 6.3 Legal none
- 6.4 HR none
- 6.5 Equalities none
- 6.6 Risk none
- 6.7 Customer Service none

# Executive Director of Customer Services 28 August 2018

For further information contact: Stuart McLean, Area Committee Manager Tel: (01436) 658717

## **APPENDICES**

None.